Quick Update- not so much excessively moderate as moderately excessive

Ok if I don’t do this as bullet points it will not get written.

  • I have been busy doing up my house in preparation to selling hence not so much time for blogging
  • DIY especially involving heights (I have been doing my upstairs windows) is not my thing, but I have had to do it
  • I can never believe that I will finish such projects or do them well enough
  • I am scared of falling off ladders and dying
  • After each day of working on the house I drank alcohol with complete abandon- partly to celebrate still being alive, partly as a reward for actually getting the day’s jobs done and done well and partly as a second reward for working hard
  • I enjoyed my regular drinking after a day of hard graft
  • Moderation went out the window
  • I never got really smashed as I knew I was going up ladders the next day

Has my project failed? No. I have simply had a few unusual weeks. Would I want to sustain this pattern of drinking? Definitely not- I miss my 3 non alcohol days a week.

Next week I go to see a friend for a few days and we will enjoy some wine fuelled nights which I’m looking forward to.

After that I will go on holiday with my girlfriend and enjoy a week of walking, beer and wine.

By the middle of September I get back into work and some old routines. Cutting down on alcohol will be top of my list.

Failure? No. Just life.

Jim x

About dealingwithalcoholdependency

Semi retired professional working in education and social work. Exploring how I became alcohol dependent and hoping I can find a way to moderate rather than abstain. It may be a losing battle but reluctant at this stage to lose this constant companion.
This entry was posted in Alcohol dependency, Influences on drinking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Quick Update- not so much excessively moderate as moderately excessive

  1. Hi Jim,
    Thank you for the update!
    Although your path is not my path, I wish you only good things!
    Have fun with your friends, and your girlfriend!
    xo
    Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dana Pescrilo says:

    Perfectly said, “Failure? No. Just life.” Keep up the great attitude!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks Dana, you’ll have to let me know how things are going for you. Good I hope.

    Like

    • Dana Pescrilo says:

      Hi Jim,
      Overall, I’ve been good. As you know, I did drink during my vacation, and I drank a few more days when I got back, nothing too over the top. But I started another sober stretch, and I’m at day 16. Not so hard this time, maybe because I’m want to do it this time, instead of “I have to.”

      However, I had an episode at work last Friday, and I wanted to drink that evening very much, but something stopped me, or rather, I realized I wanted to drink for the wrong reason and it stopped me from doing so. In the past, that would not have happened.

      Hope you are doing well, your home improvements progressing, and life in general is treating yo well.

      dp

      Like

      • Hi Dana
        Hectic days and weeks means I haven’t blogged for a while but just wanted to say hi. Hope your sober stretch is going well? I have decided that I don’t want to focus so much on alcohol as I think the drinking is just part of me not looking after myself properly so trying to adopt a more holistic approach.
        Hopefully we can catch up a bit more now that I’ve finished my various travels and mini projects.
        Regards
        John

        Like

Leave a Reply

